Junior Annual Awards Evening


In front of over 100 people at the Xcel Sports Hub, the club recognised the outstanding sporting achievements of its Junior athletes for the 2016/17 season.

George Sudderick was announced as the winner of the Victor Ludorum Award, for the best overall male performer of the year.

George remained unbeaten all season at 300 metres, winning the Surrey Champs, Surrey Schools, South East Schools Inter Counties, English Schools, South of England and the England Champs.

He broke the European Age 13 Best and finished the season ranked number one in the UK and moved to number 8 on the All Time Rankings.

The Cross Country award went to three young ladies (Emma Horsey, Rachel Pharaoh & Charlotte Vaughan) for their outstanding bronze medal performance at the English Cross Country Relay Championships held in Mansfield last November.

Charlotte Maxwell and Amy van der Westhuizen jointly won the under 13 girls’ award. Amy was rewarded this year with her first Surrey vest. Multiple Surrey medalist Jasmine de la Touche won the under 15 girls’ award, and Nicola Bell, who represented Surrey at this year’s English Schools Championships where she placed a credible fifth, took the honours in the under 17 women’s category.

Sam Mace was run away winner of the under 17 men’s age group award. Sam once again had another outstanding year where he gained his first England vest, and represented England in the Schools International in Dublin. Joint under 15 Boys’
winner Tyler Panton was another to set the track alight this season and set sprinting standards the club has never seen before. Newcomer Finn Punton took the under 13 boys’ award after a great first season at the club.

Club Chairman Jack Rutherford, who presented the main awards, said:

β€œThe overall standard this season was unbelievable. It is uplifting to see the immense talent in the junior section of the club, and to see their determination and passion being reflected by their superb results. Congratulations to all the athletes in this room on their achievements.”

“Congratulations and thanks are also due to the coaches, team managers, officials and helpers, without whom the club couldn’t exist”

Full list of winners:

Cross Country:
Winners – Emma Horsey, Rachel Paraoh & Charlotte Vaughan
Joint Runners Up – Ben Fitzpatrick & Ben Marks
Most Improved – Ben Palmer

Best Newcomers of the Year:
Phoebe Schofield & Ollie Emment

Youth Development League Awards:
Under 13 Emma Fisher & Christopher Vaughan
Under 15 Lani Cardwell & Jack Gemmell
Under 17 Darby Begley-Jones & Tom Cursons

Age Group Championship Awards:
Under 13 Girls
First = Charlotte Maxwell & Amy van der Westhuizen
Third: Emma Fisher

Under 13 Boys
First: Finn Punton
Second: Ollie Emment
Third: Christopher Vaughan

Under 15 Girls
First: Jasmine de la Touche
Second: Emma Horsey
Third: Georgia Russell

Under 15 Boys
First = Tyler Panton & George Sudderick
Third: Rueben Leyland

Under 17 Women
First: Nicola Bell
Second: Charlotte Vaughan
Third: Rachel Pharaoh

Under 17 Men
First: Sam Mace
Second: Ben Marks
Third: Josef Hubbard

Victor Ludorum Award: George Sudderick

Congratulations to all this years winners!