Category Archives: Uncategorized

YDL UAG – Lightning Performances

Lightening Performances UAG YDL Kingston.
Competing last weekend at Kingston in the Upper Age Group YDL, Walton athletes faced lightening challenges – literally.
The day started with the throws : Georgia Russell Shot putted 2nd place in the U20W., with Eva West in the U20 Women’s Hammer storming ahead with a new PB of 39.32m winning the A stream and Georgia Russell also gaining a new PB of 28.31m winning the B stream.  Under 17 Amy-Lee van der Westhuizen  hammered the competition with a throw of 41.02m to win the A stream. Meanwhile the track events commenced with the 1500m, Alex Kilby winning the U20 Men’s and Pb’s and second places for Harry Tuckman and Finlay Sanders.
In the 100m’s U17M Ben Wells equalled his pb(4th) and Jacob Thomas came 3rd in the B stream.   Jacob also came 2nd in the long jump with a leap of 5.25m and Ben Witham came 3rd in the men’s U20 and also ran 12.2sec in the 100m. Ethan Dray ran 11.5 for 2nd in U20M and Jon Awuah was 3rd with 12.4.
13 seconds seemed to be the prime time in the 100m’s with Jeslyn Agyei-Kyem 3rd in the U20 Women 100m’s with Emma Fisher winning the A stream and Annalise Agyei-Kyem winning the B stream in the U17 Women.  Yukti Bimali also ran a pb in the U20W 100m in 14 Sec.
Olivia Hansen jumped to 3rd place in the U17 women’s Long Jump.
Next up were the 400m PB’s: Joseph Daws-Twilley pb U20 men, Finn Punton pb U17M, Josh Punton U17M pb and also for Christopher Vaughan U17M pb.
In the 300m U17W Sian Popham came 2nd in 42.7 seconds.
Alex Brewis U17W headed off to the Discus only to have the weather stop the match.
Thunder and lightning held the match of for 45mins until off we went again.
Patiently waiting, Alex resumed to finish 2nd in the Discus.
Patience is a virtue they say and some things are just worth waiting for as shown by George Pittwood in the U17M 800m with a 4 Sec PB 2.07.2sec.
The day was complete for WAC with Alex Kilby running his first and lone 2000metre Steeplechase in 6.17.7.
A very big thank you to our dedicated team of Officials; Malcolm Howard, Stuart Russell, Stuart Mace, Sophie Mace and Sam Mace.